RSS

Quantum GIS and Stokesville-Douthat-Stokesville Maps

01 Dec

Decided using old old versions of ESRI’s ArcGIS software to make maps was no longer acceptable. I downloaded a free and Open Source GIS package called Quantum GIS. At times I have been frustrated trying the find functions,but not because it is lacking nor designed badly. t has just been hard for me to adapt since I was so used to the tools and menus in ArcGIS.

The first maps I am making are for SMT’s Stokesville-Douthat-Stokesville 2 Day and 3 Day rides.  The map image below is of the trails around the Douthat Cabin.

 

4 responses to “Quantum GIS and Stokesville-Douthat-Stokesville Maps

  1. Chris Nystrom

    April 16, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Are the SDS maps going to be available? Looking forward to the 2day next weekend.

     
  2. raymoinledroit

    April 16, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    Working on my taxes took priority the last two weeks. The eve’s this week are going to consist of working on the SDS map and drinking beer. I also got to swap out the brakes on my Salsa. 8 year old Avids hydros scare me.

     
    • Chris Nystrom

      April 17, 2012 at 10:13 am

      Nice. I can only the imagine the nightmares after doing that combination of chores. Thank you for the hard work on the maps?

       

Leave a Reply

 
