RSS

Flagging Strava Segments on the 14th Street Bridge

20 Dec

There are many names used for the sidewalk on the 14th Street Bridge, most based on the name for this bridge. The bridge has many names: 14th Street, George Mason Memorial, Rochambeau and the most official, the Arland D. Williams Jr. Memorial Bridge.

Flagging 14th Street Bridge Segments

Flagging 14th Street Bridge Segments

Often when I ride across this bridge, I find a new Strava segment created on it. Strava, a social fitness network, allows users to track how quickly they traverse various parts of rides called segments. Segments are created and delineated by the user community. I have made a few myself and challenge myself on those and others regularly. I have even taken greater risks, to just myself, in pursuit of good times, however, I have never acted with disregard for other riders, other trail users, sanity, or cars.

The bike path on the Arland D. Williams Jr. Memorial Bridge is narrow, shared with runners, walkers and the occasional wheel chair. Many tourist use this sidewalk when visiting the mall area. This bike path, like all shared bike paths in the region, have a 15 MPH speed limit. I find it totally irresponsible for people blast across this segment and the other bike paths at reckless speeds.

Flagged Strava Segments on the 14th Street Bridge

Flagged Strava Segments on the 14th Street Bridge

That is why I am proud to routinely mark this segment as hazardous. I have done time and time again and will always do so. I have also done so for many segments on the Mt. Vernon, WO&D and other bike paths. I have marked so many, I got an e-mail about it from Strava. When I explained why I was doing this, they agreed with my reasons and actions.

e
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 20, 2013 in Bike, DC

 

Leave a Reply

 
